Select grade below

Encouraging Swans in Round 1 v Tigers

Wednesday, April 7, 2021 - 9:32 AM by Chris Pike

SWAN Districts started the 2021 season on fire at Steel Blue Oval on Saturday and turned on a goalkicking clinic, and while the end result was a loss to Claremont, there was plenty to be encouraged about.

With Jesse Palmer, Thomas Edwards and Lewis Jetta all leading from the front in front of goals, Swan Districts made a blistering start on Saturday to the opening game of the 2021 WAFL season against Claremont at Steel Blue Oval.

Swans already had four goals on the board in the opening 15 minutes of the game and would lead by as much as points early in the second quarter.

However, Claremont was able to turn things around and lead themselves by 35 points late in the third term. Swans were able to fight back to get back to within two points during the last term before Claremont was able to pull away again to win 20.13 (133) to 18.1 (109).

Thomas Edwards kicked four goals from six kicks for Swan Districts with Jesse Palmer booting three, Lewis Jetta two and Brayden Noble two.

New Swans vice-captain Jesse Turner was outstanding with 34 possessions and 11 marks while Sam Fisher racked up 33 disposals, Frank Anderson 26, Josh Cipro 18, Nelson Waite 17 and Corey Gault 15 to go with 50 hit outs.

Swan Districts made the perfect start with a goal to new recruit Jesse Palmer to open the scoring. Lewis Jetta then made it the first two for Swans and Thomas Edwards added another.

Jetta then added another from outside 50 and the black-and-whites had four goals on the board inside 15 minutes in a stunning start.

Claremont did manage to get on the board with a couple of their own goals late in the quarter, but Swans still finished off with a goal to Aidan Clarke and a second to Palmer to head into quarter-time leading by 23 points in a brilliant start against last year's Grand Finalists.

Palmer's stunning debut continued with his third goal to open the second term with Swans' lead back out to 29 points, but the Tigers were always going to fire back and they put together a massive eight-goal second term to head into half-time leading by 16 points.

Sandover Medallist Sam Fisher opened the second half with a goal for Swans to close the gap back 10 points but Claremont had built some momentum and were up by as much as 35 points by the 25-minute mark of the third quarter.

But Swan Districts closed the quarter with two goals to Edwards and another to Tarir Bayok to give themselves a chance still only trailing by 17 points at three quarter-time.

Chris Jones then brought Swans back within 11 points with a goal to start the last term before a goal to vice-captain Jesse Turner and captain Matt Riggio.

Suddenly it was game on and Swans only trailed by two points but Claremont did enough to steady from there and went on to score the 24-point Round 1 victory.

Earlier, Swan Districts reserves scored an 11.12 (78) to 7.8 (50) victory against Claremont at Steel Blue Oval.

Warrick Wilson kicked three goals for Swans, Patrick Farrant and Jiah Reidy two.

Jacob Sideris gathered 27 disposals, Lachlan Riley 26, Denzel More 23, Mitchell Bain 20, Callum Garcia 20, Jak Watson 17 and Brenton Hilton 17.

And to start the day, the colts were also victorious over Claremont 10.9 (69) to 9.10 (64).

Tyrell Metcalf kicked four goals for the black-and-whites and Rhett Bazzo two while Max Chipper gathered 24 disposals, Ben Hewett 24, Noah Hannan 22, Lawson Humphries 21, Bailey Jenkin 19 and Tyrell Metcalf 19.

Swan Districts now take on Perth at Lathlain's Mineral Resources Park on Saturday evening from 5.10pm.



SWAN DISTRICTS              6.0          8.0          13.1        18.1 (109)

CLAREMONT                      2.1          10.4        15.6        20.13 (133)


SWAN DISTRICTS: Goals – Edwards 4; Palmer 3; Jetta, Noble 2; Bayok, Clarke, Collins, Fisher, Jones, Riggio, Turner.

Best – Turner, Fisher, Gault, Anderson, Cipro, Waite.

CLAREMONT: Goals – Manuel 4; Barton 3; Van Rooyen, Edwards, England 2; Buller, Rogers, Treacy, Bolton, Eastland, Lim, McCracken.

Best – Bolton, Rogers, Lim, Mountford, Martinis, Manuel.