Select grade below

Swans win 2021 Colts Premiership

Wednesday, October 6, 2021 - 9:24 AM by Chris Pike

The Swan Districts young talent is on top of the WAFL world again with the black-and-whites capping off a brilliant 2021 season by winning Saturday's Grand Final at Optus Stadium.

It was a standout season for the Swan Districts colts in 2021 finishing as minor premiers with a four-game gap on the rest of the competition with just the one loss during the home and away season.

They then ended up winning into the Grand Final by beating East Fremantle in the preliminary final and after a tremendous battle at Optus Stadium on Saturday, Swan Districts prevailed against Claremont to come away with the 2021 colts premiership.

It caps off a terrific all-round season for Swan Districts with the reserves team also playing finals with the league side also taking part in the finals action for the first time since 2017.

Claremont was on top early with exciting key forward Jacob Van Rooyen threatening to be the difference with three goals in the opening quarter. But Swans turned things around and by half-time had managed to assume an 11-point lead.

Some brilliant individual efforts from Peter Coles and Angus Sheldrick, it was Claremont who was back on top and leading by eight points at three quarter-time but Swans weren’t done with yet.

Mel Whinnen Medallist Bailey Jenkin kicked two huge goals to start the last term for Swans before Cian Ehlers and Tyrell Metcalf sealed the 12.14 (86) to 12.6 (78) Grand Final win.

It's Swan Districts' first premiership since the Trent Cooper-coached successful colts team of 2014 and it's the club's eighth flag overall.

Jenkin won the Mel Whinnen Medal for his two goals, 14 possessions and eight tackles for Swan Districts while Elijah Hewett finished with 22 disposals, Lawson Humphries 16, Bryce Watson 15, Noah Hannan 15, Max Chipper 14 and Ben Hewett 14 to go with eight tackles and a goal.

Ayden Cartwright finished with 15 possessions and two brilliant goals while Tyrell Metcalf took his chances with three goals from four kicks.

Rhett Bazzo was especially outstanding as well for Swans down back after quarter-time quelling the influence of potential Claremont match-winner Van Rooyen.

It was a dynamic start to the Grand Final at Optus Stadium with three goals between the two teams across just over the opening six minutes.

Jacob Van Rooyen was looming as the difference up forward for Claremont kicking two goals quickly for Claremont but Swan Districts stayed in touch thanks to Ben Hewett.

The goals kept coming with Swans staying in touch thanks to a goal to Tyrell Metcalf either side of Tigers majors to Fletcher Netherway and a third for the opening term to Van Rooyen.

Claremont was nine points up at quarter-time but Swan Districts took just 30 seconds to cut that to three points in the second term with a goal to Ayden Cartwright.

Metcalf then put the black-and-whites in front before a brilliant snap on the boundary deep in the pocket from Cartwright saw their lead grow out to nine points after three goals in eight minutes.

James Sullivan stretched the lead to 15 points soon after but Claremont stayed in touch at half-time with a late goal from Kieran Kavanagh.

Swans went back up 15 points to start the third term when Brayden Jones kicked truly but the Tigers quickly got back into the contest with a couple of goals inside three minutes to Peter Coles.

Angus Sheldrick then delivered two goals in a minute including a miraculous snap shot on the back of fending off a tackle to put Claremont up by seven points and to suddenly have all the momentum.

Swans stayed in touch thanks to Ty Sears but a contested mark against two defenders from Van Rooyen saw him go back to kick his fourth and ensure the Tigers led by eight points at three quarter-time.

Swan Districts had all the play early in the final term and when Bailey Jenkin goaled at the six-minute mark he put them in front. Claremont responded with a beauty from Coles up against the boundary, but the black-and-whites were feeling the momentum swing their way.

Jenkin nailed his second of the term to put Swans back in front by a point and then Cian Ehlers extended that advantage to eight points.

Claremont stayed in touch with six minutes to go thanks to Max Mumme but Swans just wouldn’t be denied and it was Metcalf kicking the sealer with his third to guarantee the boys from Bassendean a first premiership since 2014.



SWAN DISTRICTS                              2.4          6.7          8.9          12.14 (86)

CLAREMONT                                      4.1          5.2          10.5        12.6 (78)

SWAN DISTRICTS: Goals – Metcalf 3; Cartwright, Jenkin 2; B Hewett, Ehlers, Sullivan, Jones, Sears.

Best – Jenkin, E Hewett, Cartwright, Bazzo, Watson, Hannan, Humphries.

CLAREMONT: Goals – Van Rooyen 4; Coles 3; Sheldrick 2; Mumme, Kavanagh, Netherway.

Best – Sheldrick, Delacey, Van Rooyen, Ciminata, Blurton, Mumme, Coles.

Mel Whinnen Medal: Bailey Jenkin (Swan Districts).