Select grade below

Board Of Directors - Swan Districts FC

Peter Hodyl - President

Appointed to the Board 2012 and appointed President in 2014. Peter is a former premiership player and club captain at the club with a history in Bassendean and surrounds totalling over 50 years. With strong community values Peter believes everyone has an obligation to give back to the community as those before you have. Peter's main priority is working closely with Swans board of management and an extremely talented team across all areas of the club to ensure the club remains competitive both on and off the field. Sustainability and building a very strong community focussed future are significant areas identified as critical to the future wellbeing of the club. 

Peter's paid employment is a Station Officer with the Department of Fire and Emergency Services. Peter also ran very successful businesses in Plumbing and Franchising before focusing on his role in emergency services.

Andrew Holmes - Vice President

Appointed to the Board 2014, Andrew’s life time involvement with football commenced playing junior football in the Swans District for Swan View where he then progressed to playing for Swan Districts between 1986 – 1995 amassing 138 games and playing in the 1990 grand final victory. He was previously a board member from 2004 – 2009 and was reappointed to the current board in 2014. He is currently a Primary School Principal of a large metropolitan school of over 700 students, after completing a decade of Principal ship in the country. Andrew is also a Life Member of the Swan Districts Football Club, with his family having a long and distinguished connection to the club since the early 1980’s.

Ms Roanna Edwards

Appointed to the Board 2019, Roanna began her career in 2003 as a Cadet Journalist at Geraldton Guardian. She then moved on to her position as a Radio Broadcaster & Producer at the ABC where she spent over five years. She has also worked as a Senior Media, Marketing and Communications Officer at Northern Land Council and as a Retail and Community Manager at Horizon Power where she is currently working. As well as all of this, Roanna is also studying a Bachelor of Arts, Political Science and International Relations at UWA which she is due to complete in 2021.

Des Hardiman - Treasurer

Appointed to SDFC Board July 2016, Des is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants, a Member of the Governance Institute of Australia and a Justice of the Peace. He recently retired following a 30 year career in the education industry being the Bursar/ Business Manager for a number of independent schools. Prior to that, Des worked in accounting positions for a number of businesses, including 5 years as the accountant for Swan Districts between 1981 and 1985. He has had a strong community and sporting involvement over many years including positions on numerous Boards and committees. Des has been a past President and member of the Swansmen Committee since 2013, and a member of the Past Players & Officials Association since 1985.

Ian Westmore

Appointed to the Board in 2020, Ian is a passionate Swans supporter with many years of experience and leadership in the Swan Districts community. Between 2012 and 2020, Ian was the Chair of the Swan Districts Football Development Council and a member of the West Australian Football Commission Council of Chairs Executive, helping build a strong connection between the club and the junior football clubs in its metropolitan community.

Ian’s experience working in the Western Australia Police Force’s Community Engagement Division has seen him drive community engagement and activation, particularly in the at-risk youth space, holding various leadership roles: Chair of the Midland Midnight Basketball Committee, which implemented and ran a highly successful and widely acknowledged youth-at-risk engagement program in Midland between 2009 and 2015, and President of the Midland PCYC Advisory Committee between 2010 and 2020. Ian has also led or played key roles in corporate wide programs in the WA Police Force, including the successful Bikelinc and ewatch programs.

Ian’s appetite for football was evident at a young age while playing junior football, and further grew as he represented the Victorian School Boys team as Vice Captain, and when recruited to Melbourne Football Club at the age of 15. Injuries cut Ian’s football playing career short, however his passion and commitment to the game, the people and the community of football, and to the extensive benefits, has never waned.

Brendan Valentine 

Appointed to the Board in 2021, Brendan been a past Swans Colts and senior squad player before focusing on his career. In his role as Risk Manager for BHP, he helps organisations identify and manage uncertainty, to enable them to achieve their objectives while protecting what is important. Brendan provides governance, risk and compliance insights to executive leaders and Boards of Directors. This information supports making risk informed decisions and enables organisations to align their business strategy with their risk appetite.
Brendan is also on the Advisory Board for the Good Chat Foundation and has been on the Swans Finance and Risk Committee for the past couple of years. He’s assisted oversee the club’s policies, procedures and financial management and was instrumental behind the creation of the club’s risk management policy and plan.


Joanne Taylor

Joanne has been a volunteer at Swan Districts in various roles for the past 12 years predominantly within the club’s successful female football programs helping the club become the envy of the industry with how its integrated the male and female football programs to be one club.

Jo’s volunteer roles at the club have ranged from assistant coaching and team managing its WAWFL teams, team managing the WAFL 14’s and 15’s development squads, President/Chairperson of the club’s women’s football program  from 2014 with this role transitioning into Female Football Manager from 2017 and in 2020 she was also the Caretaker Coach of the WAFLW League team. Jo also previously worked for the club for 4 years as the Sales and Functions Manager.

Jo has a diverse professional life that has seen her develop a wide-ranging skillset. She’s a qualified Chef having worked in a variety of different establishments from large resorts through to small restaurants across the country and in the USA. Jo has also spent the last six years working in a manufacturing and sales industry as an Operations Manager and in sales and marketing teams.

Jeff Dennis - Chief Executive Officer

Jeff was born in Perth and has a Diploma of Teaching, Bachelor of Education, Graduate Diploma in Marketing and a Master in Business Administration. He’s worked in sport management for almost three decades including GM Commercial for the National Basketball League, Marketing Manager and CEO of Perth Glory, CEO of Allia Venue Management responsible for the management of NIB Stadium (now HBF Park), CEO of Swan Districts Football Club, and various other roles in Western Australian soccer and with Basketball WA and the WA Football Commission. He’s also been the owner and Managing Director of several commercial retail companies.

Jeff has been a Director/Deputy Chair at Basketball WA for almost 7 years. He has broad management experience covering corporate governance, strategic planning, financial management, senior leadership, risk management, marketing, event management, government relations, and building commercial and government partnerships.

He represented WA in five Australian Basketball Championships in the 1980’s, represented Australia in an Under 20’s team, played in a championship basketball team with Swan Districts in 1985, and also played for the Perth Wildcats.