Remarkable Swan Districts Women's Season Celebrated

Monday, October 2, 2017 - 9:14 AM

SWAN Districts' remarkable performances in women's football for 2017 has been recognised at the annual awards night with Stephanie Cain, Kayla Augustynek and Taylor Pescud winning the respective fairest and best awards from their premiership winning teams.

It was a remarkable 2017 for Swan Districts and it began with 15 players taking part in the inaugural AFL Women's season from the club including Chelsea Randall being co-captain of the Adelaide Crows premiership as well as being All-Australian alongside Kara Donnellan.

As well as that, Swan Districts provided three players including the captain to the Western Australia State 23s team, nine players and the captain of the State 18s and then another six players for the State 16s team.

Swan Districts' success for 2017 was only just starting there with the club going on to make history by winning all three premierships in the Mundella WA Women's Football League.

Swan Districts' Rogers Cup and reserves teams had qualified automatically for the grand finals of 2017 by winning their second semi-final match ups.

The league team then had to do it the hard way by winning the preliminary final against East Fremantle at Steel Blue Oval. 

But come grand final day at Leederville Oval, it was all Swan Districts with the club's Youth Girls, reserves and league teams triumphant.

Grand final day began with the Rogers Cup decider with Swan Districts beating South Fremantle 3.7 (25) to 2.3 (15).

Swan Districts' reserves then beat East Fremantle 3.8 (26) to 2.3 (15).

And finally in the league contest, Swan Districts made it back-to-back WAWFL premierships beating Coastal Titans 6.8 (44) to 2.3 (15). 

Those history-making teams were celebrated at the awards night for 2017.

Stephanie Cain capped the occasion being presented the Helen Wheeler Medal as the fairest and best winner for the Swan Districts' league team for 2017.

She won the award ahead of Ashley Sharp, Taylah Angel and captain Kara Donnellan who all shared the runner-up award.

The Player of the Finals Award went to Alicia Janz with the former netballer delivering outstanding performances in the ruck to lead the way for Swan Districts.

Meanwhile, Chloe Piparo was named Rookie of the Year for Swan Districts' league team in 2017, Tayla McAuliffe the Most Courageous Player and Taylor Ferguson the Most Consistent Player.

Kayla Augustynek also claimed the Helen Wheeler Medal for 2017 as the reserves fairest and best winner in yet another Swan Districts premiership team.

Danielle Jeans was named runner-up in fairest and best voting for Swan Districts' reserves while Sarah Fragomeni was presented with the Player of the Finals Award.

Ashleigh Howard was named Rookie of the Year in Swan Districts' reserves for 2017 while Lauren Bennetts claimed the Most Consistent Player Award and Bec Meriau the Most Courageous Player Award.

Swan Districts' Youth Girls team in the Rogers Cup was also outstanding throughout 2017 ending up with the premiership with Taylor Pescud ending up winning the Chelsea Randall Medal as the fairest and best winner.

Mikayla Bowen was named runner-up in the fairest and best voting with Mikayla Hyde named Player of the Finals.

Rookie of the Year for the Swan Districts' Rogers Cup team for 2017 was Erin Brown with Nyra Anderson named Most Consistent Player and Rikki Ryan the Most Courageous Player.

Swan Districts' success throughout 2017 was more about just the premierships won by three clubs in the WAWFL as well with Swans players featuring heavily in the inaugural AFLW season.

Chelsea Randall was co-captain of the premiership winning Adelaide Crows team and was named All-Australian while Kellie Gibson was a teammate of hers in the winning side.

Kara Donnellan was captain at the Fremantle Dockers and also named All-Australian while she was teammates with Ebony Antonio, Kirby Bentley, Taylah Angel, Stephanie Caine, Emily Bonser, Taryn Priestly, Susan Chuot, Stacey Barr, Ashley Sharp, Gemma Houghton and Alicia Janz.

Jacinta Barclay also played with the Greater Western Sydney Giants in the AFLW season.

On top of that, Courtney Ugle was captain on the Western Australia State 23s team with Eliza Gelmi and Sharni Kittlow joining her in the team.

Maddison Ugle was also captain of the WA State 18s side while Taylah McAuliffe and Emily McGuire were named All-Australian, and Jessica Cox, Caitlyn Mann, Caitlin Hill, Mikayla Bowen, Rikki Ryan and Taylor Pescud were in the team as well.

Mikayla Hyde was named All-Australian for her performances in the WA State 16s team alongside Brianna Hyde, Tara Stribley, Hope Parata-Kingi, Charlie Beazley and Rahni Andrews.


Helen Wheeler Medal (fairest and best): Stephanie Cain
Runner-up fairest and best: Ashley Sharp, Taylah Angel, Kara Donnellan
Rookie of the Year: Chloe Piparo
Most Courageous Players: Tayla McAuliffe
Most Consistent Player: Taylor Ferguson
Player of the Finals: Alicia Janz

Helen Wheeler Medal (fairest and best): Kayla Augustynek
Runner up fairest and best: Danielle Jeans
Rookie of the Year: Ashleigh Howard
Most Consistent Player: Lauren Bennetts
Most Courageous Player: Bec Meriau
Player of the Finals: Sarah Fragomeni

Chelsea Randall Medal (fairest and best): Taylor Pescud
Runner-up fairest and best: Mikayla Bowen
Rookie of the Year: Erin Brown
Most Consistent Player: Nyra Anderson
Most Courageous Player: Rikki Ryan
Player of the Finals: Mikayla Hyde

Julie Harrison, Lauren Vella

By Chris Pike.