Notte, Hampson, Gault in WAFL State Squad

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 10:17 PM by Chris Pike

SWAN Districts trio Tony Notte, Corey Gault and George Hampson have all been named in the initial Kia WAFL State squad of 31 players ahead of next Sunday's State match against South Australia at Optus Stadium.

Notte, Gault and Hampson have all had strong starts to the season for Swan Districts and appear strong chances to pull on the Black Swans jumper against the SANFL.

Notte has continued the form that he's displayed throughout the majority of his 223-game dual Swan Medal winning career at the Black Ducks. He's having a rock solid season once more defensively for Swans but he has the ability to still go forward and pinch-hit in the ruck.

Gault has also had a strong start to the season with the 2017 Swan Medallist splitting his time between playing as a marking target in attack and sharing the ruck duties with Nathan Blakely. He's coming off a terrific five-goal display in Saturday's win against West Perth.

Then there is Hampson who is only four games into his career at Swan Districts but has had no trouble settling in, having a significant impact both in the forward-line and midfield. 

A previous fairest and best winner both at East Fremantle and Subiaco, and a premiership player with the Lions, he is a previous State representative and is in the form and health right now to deserve selection.

The game will be played at Optus Stadium on Sunday May 12 as a curtain-raiser to the Fremantle v Richmond AFL game.

WAFL State Coach Michael Broadbridge, who led WA to historic wins over the SANFL in Adelaide last year and VFL in Melbourne in 2017, will be at the helm again joined by assistant coaches Ryan Cook, Brad Dodd, Steve Malaxos, Garry Moss and Ross McQueen.

WA’s win against South Australia last year was the first in Adelaide since 1994, while the 2017 win over the VFL was the first for a WA team on Victorian soil in 113 years.

Broadbridge said he was looking forward to the opportunity of extending WA’s successful record and had selected a strong squad based on the performance of players in the first four rounds of the WAFL season.

"We are very keen to extend WA’s unbeaten run in State Games to a seventh year and think we’ve got a really good group of talented players who have State, WAFL and AFL experience," he said.

"We will be keeping a close eye on games this weekend before finalising the squad and may still include players that grab our attention or we think can fulfil a specific role."

Broadbridge said the game would also be a great chance for players to experience playing at Optus Stadium and contribute to making the venue a fortress for WA football.

"Playing the game at Optus Stadium as an AFL curtain raiser is a great opportunity not only for the players, but the coaches and support staff involved with both teams that will get to experience the world-class facilities," he said.

"We also want to help Fremantle and West Coast maintain Optus Stadium as a fortress for WA football by being the first senior State team to win at the ground.

"Hopefully those players with AFL aspirations can also use it as an opportunity to showcase their talent, just like Tim Kelly did a couple of years ago."

WAFC executive manager WAFL and football operations Scott Baker congratulated all of the players selected in the squad and thanked Broadbridge and his assistant coaches for their contribution to the program.

"The WAFC is committed to giving players and officials the opportunity to represent the WAFL competition and Western Australia during these annual State Games," he said. 

"Thanks to the clubs, coaches, support staff and umpires that help make it possible, as well as the SANFL for continuing this great tradition. We are looking forward to hosting what promises to be an exciting, high-quality contest at Optus Stadium."

Claremont – Jye Bolton, Anton Hamp, Kane Mitchell, Declan Mountford, Bailey Rogers
East Perth – Jackson Ramsay
Peel Thunder – Blair Bell, Jackson Merrett, Gerald Ugle
Perth – Brant Colledge, Corey Byrne
South Fremantle – Jacob Dragovich, Brock Higgins, Chad Pearson, Haiden Schloithe, Kade Stewart
Subiaco – Lachlan Delahunty, Josh Deluca, Kyal Horsley, Hayden Kennedy, Leigh Kitchin, Angus Litherland, Jordan Lockyer, Ben Sokol, Rhys Waters
Swan Districts – Corey Gault, George Hampson, Tony Notte
West Perth – Aaron Black, Shane Nelson, Andrew Strijk

WA Umpires
Field Umpires:
Ryan Shelton and Matt Adams
Emergency: Cam Jones
Boundary Umpires: Clayton Gardner and Bayley Lamont
Goal Umpire: Steve Gaensler
Goal Umpire 3rd Scorer: Jason Tyrell