Select grade below

2021 Swan Medal

Friday, October 15, 2021 - 11:23 AM

It didn’t take long for Frank Anderson to make his mark in black and white history, taking out the coveted Swan Medal by 24 votes (120 votes overall) in just his second season with the club, at Mandoon Estate on Friday night.

Making the decision to cross to WA for season 2020, just prior to the pandemic hitting and locking down Victoria, proved to be the wisest move for Frank both on and off the field, with his leadership qualities helping his side return to finals once more.

After a top five finish in last season’s Swan Medal count, Frank took his game to another level in season 2021, averaging more than 25 disposals and 6 tackles a game, received best on ground votes in 12 of his 17 games played, was named in the 2021 WAFL Team of the Year and was the highest finishing Swan in this season’s Sandover Medal Count.

“It’s extremely humbling” he said. “There have been some really great players who have represented the club and won this award, and I don’t feel I’m quite at their level yet.”

“I really did not expect to win it and am very grateful for all the support I’ve been given this season.”

Frank claimed the top honour ahead of last season’s runner-up and fellow midfielder, Sam Fisher (96 votes), and key defender Brandon Erceg (93 votes). Jesse Turner (70 votes) and new recruit Chris Jones (65 votes) rounded out the top five.

Jesse Palmer claimed the Ted Holdsworth Memorial Award as the leading goal kicker for the club, averaging over a goal a game to kick 35.27 for the season. Exciting on the ground and in the air, Palmer quickly became one of the dangerous forwards throughout the competition.

After a breakout debut season in last years shortened games format, Brayden Spackman continued to show why he is becoming an important part of the Swans backline, awarded with the RA Newbey Memorial Award as Rookie of the Year.

“The backline guys have been really good mentors to me” he said. “I look up to them and to be able to play alongside them is an honour.”

Kay McCarthy received the Best Club Person Award for 2021. Her tireless work over many years of helping with the club’s team management, trainers and Past Players and Official Association was recognised by Club President Peter Hodyl, while club stalwart, Jim Dougan, was the winner of the Joe Pearce Courage Memorial Award after taking the challenge of adversity over the past 12 months head on.

Nelson Waite was the recipient of the WAFL Community Player of the Year Award, while club veteran Matt Riggio received the Jack Hickling Memorial Award, voted as the most outstanding player on and off the field by the Swans WAFL support staff.

Jesse Turner was recognised for reaching his 100-game milestone this season, while club legend Tony Notte joined an elite group of Swans players, becoming just the sixth black duck to play over 250 games for the club, to now sit third highest overall behind Bill Walker (305 games) and Stan Nowotny (278 games) with 264 total games to his name.

“It’s a massive achievement and I honestly never thought I would get to play in this many games” he said. “The goal is to win the flag which is why I’ll be staying on again next season.”

Two life members in Alex Howard and Matt Riggio both announced their retirement in season 2021, having played almost 400 games between them.

The count was much closer in the race for the fairest and best in the Reserves, with just 6 votes separating the top 3 winners. Jacob Sideris, Nathan Ireland and Dylan Ralph continued to leapfrog each other into the top position throughout the evening, with each taking a turn in leading the count at the main breaks, before Sideris held the count late to secure the number one honour with 76 votes. Ireland (71 votes) and Ralph (70 votes) finished second and third respectively, with Callum Garcia (58 votes) and Mitchell Bain (50 votes) rounding out the top five.

“It feels good and I didn’t expect it at all” he said. “I pride myself on consistency, even if I’m not having the best game and to see the effort pay off is really rewarding.”

For the Colts, the night belonged to Max Chipper (157 votes) which saw him poll votes in almost every round he played in. Averaging 28.9 disposals, 5.9 marks and 2.5 tackles a game, Max showed that not only could he accumulate a lot of the ball at a consistent level, he could also kick goals when his team needed it. He was also named in the WA State U19’s squad and received the 2021 WAFL Colts Coaches Award as voted on by the nine Colts Coaches. He finished ahead of Ben Howlett (99 votes) and Bryce Watson (84 votes).

“Receiving this award is a credit to the coaches and all the boys I played with this year” he said. “Seeing the team success on the field this season was awesome.”

Chipper, Watson, Cian Ehlers, Lawson Humphries, Darcy Jones and Tyrell Metcalf were named in the Simply Energy Colts Team of the Year while Brayden Fawcett was presented with the Colts Encouragement Award.

League Award Winners Swan Medallist (Fairest and Best): Frank Anderson

Norm Thomas Memorial Award (Runner-Up): Sam Fisher Mrs N Innes Memorial Award (Third Place): Brandon Erceg Jack Hickling Memorial Award (Most Outstanding Player On and Off the Field): Matt Riggio

RA Newbey Memorial Award (Rookie of the Year): Brayden Spackman Ted Holdsworth Memorial Award (Leading Goal Kicker): Jesse Palmer

Reserves Award Winners FA Bonney Sweetapple Memorial Award (Fairest and Best): Jacob Sideris DC Goddard Memorial Award (Runner-Up): Nathan Ireland Lew Armstrong Memorial Award (Third Place): Dylan Ralph

Colts Award Winners EJ McManus Award (Fairest and Best): Max Chipper Judy Sarich Memorial Award (Runner-Up): Ben Howlett Cooper Brothers Award (Third Place): Bryce Watson Colts Encouragement Award: Brayden Fawcett

WAFL Colts Coaches Award: Max Chipper

Other Award Winners

Best Club Person: Kay McCarthy

Joe Pearce Courage Memorial Award: Jim Dougan

WAFL Swans Community Person of the Year: Nelson Waite

Notable Achievements in 2021


100 Games: Jesse Turner (#101 games)

250 Games: Tony Notte (#264 games)

Retired Players

Matt Riggio (#218 games) & Alex Howard (#174 games)

League Debutants

Jesse Palmer, Chris Jones, Jake Dugan, Greg Ottaviano & Jehb O’Donoghue

WAFL Team of the Year

Frank Anderson (League – Half Forward)

Brandon Erceg (League – Back Pocket)

Jesse Turner (League – Emergency Wing)

WAFL Colts Team of the Year

Max Chipper, Bryce Watson, Cian Ehlers, Lawson Humphries, Darcy Jones & Tyrell Metcalf

State U19’s Representatives

Rhett Bazzo, Max Chipper & Bryce Watson