Select grade below

Abby reigns supreme in 2022

Monday, August 1, 2022 - 11:21 AM

Abbygail Bushby has topped off a stellar season, taking home her maiden 2022 McSherry Medal on Friday night at the Swan Districts WAFLW Fairest & Best awards.

The McSherry Medal is an award named after foundation captain, WA representative and dual Reserves Premiership coach – Mandy McSherry. A 3x time Club Fairest and Best winner herself, McSherry is the clubs longest serving captain and has seen the women’s teams through a number of jumper changes before the club eventually became a part of Swan Districts. Previous winners of the McSherry Medal include: Chelsea Randall, Lauren Osborne, Kara Donnellan (now Antonio), Gemma Houghton, Stephanie Cain, Angelique Stannett, Shanae Davison, Jess Cox and Dana East. Voting is conducted using a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 system. Three vote cards were completed for each game. 45 votes are awarded in each round with players able to earn a maximum of 15 votes in each round

In a close count, Bushby pipped first year player, Ruby Mahony, and her under 18’s state game teammate, Jaime Henry, who finished second and third, respectively.

Having been selected to pull on the black and yellow jumper for WA in this year’s state championships, along with being drafted by the West Coast Eagles with pick #24 in this seasons AFLW Draft, Bushby would have been forgiven to think that her year couldn’t get any better. Having finished third in the Rogers Cup best and fairest award in 2021, she made the most of her opportunities in the league side this season, playing 12 games while averaging over 16 disposals, 3 marks and 3 tackles a game. Finishing the count with 72 votes to her name, she edged out Mahony (67) and Henry (62), along with veterans Eliza Gelmi (53) and Aimee Ralph (52), on her way to the top honour.

“It is an amazing feeling to win this medal” Bushby said. “I had actually told mum and dad not to bother coming tonight as I didn’t think I’d be winning any awards”.

“Last season I split my time playing in the Rogers Cup and the League teams, so to spend this year playing in the top side was amazing”.

“I’m really excited to have won this award”.

Coming to the club for season 2022 after playing for the Bunbury Bulldogs, Ruby Mahony not only finished runner up in the McSherry Medal, she also took home the clubs Rookie of the Year, in just her first year of WAFLW football. As one of 20 debutants to play in the league side this season, Mahony stood out amongst the pack to take out the award.

“It was definitely unexpected and it’s such an honour” Mahony said. “I’ve loved every minute of this season and am so glad that I decided to play at the club”.

“I’ll definitely be back again next year”.

First year players dominated the awards on the night, with Hayley Hill standing out above her Reserves teammates to take home the Helen Wheeler Medal, while Carys D’Addario received the Chelsea Randall Medal for the Rogers Cup.

Hill finished the count 7 points ahead of the 2022 WAFLW’s association best and fairest winner, Amber Ugle-Hayward (63) and fellow first year player, Charity Ryder (41).

“I can’t believe it” Hill said. “I had a really good start to the season but didn’t think I’d done enough in the second half to receive an award like this”.

“So many of the girls had good seasons this year and I’m so happy to be at the club”.

At just 14 years of age to start of the season, Carys D’Addario has already produced an impressive football resume. She not only dominated the Roger’s Cup best and fairest count, finishing 44 votes ahead of runner up, Kailea Thomas (58) and 60 votes above third placed, Luka Davis (42), D’Addario also won the associations Rogers Cup Leading Goalkicker award and represented WA in the under 15’s state team.

Unable to be in attendance on the night due to state commitments, Rogers Cup coach Fiona Boucher couldn’t speak highly enough about D’Addario’s football talent.

“She would have to be one of the most talented 14-year old’s I’ve ever seen play the game” Boucher said. “Her age was the only thing stopping her from playing in the top side this year”.

“I’m in awe of her skill and talent on the field. She has such a bright future in football”.

Long-standing club allrounder, Julie Harrison, was presented with the clubs WAFLW Person of the Year award for showing her ongoing commitment to the club by going above and beyond to aid the women’s teams in every conceivable way.

The Award Winners

League Award Winners

2022 McSherry Medallist – Abbygail Bushby (72 votes)

Runner-Up Fairest & Best – Ruby Mahony (67 votes)

Third Place Fairest & Best – Jaime Henry (62 votes)

Rookie of the Year Award – Ruby Mahony


Reserves Award Winners

Helen Wheeler Medallist – Hayley Hill (70 votes)

Runner-Up Fairest & Best – Amber Ugle-Hayward (63 votes)

Third Place Fairest & Best – Charity Ryder (41 votes)


Rogers Cup Award Winners

Chelsea Randall Medallist – Carys D’Addario (102 votes)

Runner-Up Fairest & Best – Kailea Thomas (58 votes)

Third Place Fairest & Best – Luka Davis (42 votes)


Other Award Winners

WAFLW Person of the Year Award – Julie Harrison


Other Notable Achievements in 2022

Under 18’s State Representatives

Jorjina Kean, Tara Stribley, Tamzyn Beros, Abbygail Bushby, Tyla Fitzgerald, Jaime Henry & Emma Nanut.


League Debutants

Natalie House, Courtney Zappara, Ruby Mahony, Tyla Fitzgerald, Jorjina Kean, Tamzyn Beros, Kyah Chirichilli, Demi Liddle, Tannah Lee, Sophie Proudfoot, Emily Bourne, Chloe Spence, Sonia Dorizzi, Riley Fisher, Jasmyn Fullgrabe, Kayley King, Beth Bond, Charlie Wicksteed, Amber Ugle-Hayward & Lani Pigram.



200 Games – Lauren Osborne

150 Games – Eliza Gelmi

100 Games – Ashley Sharp & Shannan Rene


AFLW Signings

Abbygail Bushby (pick #24) – West Coast Eagles

Tara Stribley (pick #59) – Fremantle Dockers


2022 WAFLW Total Count

McSherry Medal – League

Helen Wheeler Medal – Reserves

Chelsea Randall Medal – Rogers Cup











Abbygail Bushby



Hayley Hill



Carys D’Addario



Ruby Mahony



Amber Ugle-Hayward



Kailea Thomas



Jaime Henry



Charity Ryder



Luka Davis



Eliza Gelmi



Erin Brown



Jorjina Kean



Aimee Ralph



Isabel Strover


Kaylee Myles



Jessica Cox



Kelly Polla



Hope Arrowsmith



Isabella Edgely



Keira Kennedy



Vienna Marshall